Eligible participants include Active Members (as opposed to Associate Members) of the EBU. Active members are those whose states fall within theEuropean Broadcasting Area, or otherwise those who are members of the Council of Europe.

The European Broadcasting Area is defined by the International Telecommunication Union:

The “European Broadcasting Area” is bounded on the west by the western  boundary of Region 1 (see below), on the east by the meridian 40° East of Greenwich and on the south by the parallel 30° North so as to include the western part of the USSR, the northern part of Saudi Arabia and that part of those countries bordering the Mediterranean within these limits. In addition, Iraq, Jordan and that part of the territory of Turkey lying outside the above limits are included in the European Broadcasting Area.

EurovisionParticipants.svgParticipation since 1956: Verde – Entered at least once; Giallo –  Never entered, although eligible to do so; Rosa:  Entry intended, but later withdrew; Verde Chiaro – Competed as a part of another country, but never as a sovereign country

The western boundary of Region 1 is defined by a line running from the North Pole along meridian 10° West of Greenwich to its intersection with parallel 72° North; thence by great circle arc to the intersection of meridian 50° West and parallel 40° North; thence by great circle arc to the intersection of meridian 20° West and parallel 10° South; thence along meridian 20° West to the South Pole.

Active members include broadcasting organisations, whose transmissions are often made available to at least 98% of households in their own country which are equipped to receive such transmissions.

If an EBU Active Member wishes to participate they must fulfil conditions as laid down by the rules of the contest. A separate copy is drafted annually. As of 2015, this includes the necessity to have broadcast the previous year’s programme within their country, and the broadcaster must have paid the EBU a participation fee in advance of the deadline specified in the rules of the contest for the year in which they wish to participate.

Eligibility to participate is not determined by geographic inclusion within the continent of Europe, despite the “Euro” in “Eurovision” – nor does it have any relation to the European Union. Several countries geographically outside the boundaries of Europe have competed: Israeland Cyprus in Western Asia (Cyprus is a member of the Council of Europe and a member state of the European Union), since 1973 and1981 respectively; Australia in the Australian continent, in 2015 and Morocco, in North Africa, in the 1980 competition alone. In addition, several transcontinental countries with only part of their territory in Europe have competed: Turkey, since 1975; Russia, since 1994; Armenia, since 2006; Georgia, since 2007; and Azerbaijan, which made its first appearance in the 2008 edition.

Fifty-two countries have participated at least once. These are listed here alongside the year in which they made their début:

Fifty-two countries have participated at least once.[29] These are listed here alongside the year in which they made their début:

Year Country making its debut entry
1956 Belgium, France, Germanya, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands,  Switzerland
1957 Austria, Denmark, United Kingdom
1958 Sweden
1959 Monaco
1960 Norway
1961 Finland, Spain, Yugoslaviab
1964 Portugal
1965 Ireland
1971 Malta
1973 Israel
1974 Greece
1975 Turkey
1980 Morocco
1981 Cyprus
1986 Iceland
1993 Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia
1994 Estonia, Hungary, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia
1996 FYRO Macedonia
2000 Latvia
2003 Ukraine
2004 Albania, Andorra, Belarus, Serbia and Montenegro
2005 Bulgaria, Moldova
2006 Armenia
2007 Czech Republic, Georgia, Montenegro, Serbia
2008 Azerbaijan, San Marino,
2015 Australiac
  • a) Before German reunification in 1990 occasionally presented as West Germany, representing the Federal Republic of Germany. East Germany (the German Democratic Republic) did not compete.
  • b) The entries presented as being from “Yugoslavia” represented the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, except for the 1992 entry, which represented the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. This nation dissolved in 1991/1992 into five independent states: Slovenia, Croatia, Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovinaand the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. The Federal Republic of Yugoslavia reconstituted itself as Serbia and Montenegro in 2003—entered the contest in 2004—and finally dissolved in 2006, making two separate states: Serbia and Montenegro; both of which debuted in the contest in 2007, the winner that year being Serbia.
  • c) The participation of Australia is intended as a one-off event to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the Contest unless they win in 2015 in which case they will be allowed to defend their crown in 2016. However it was revealed in May 2015 that Australia might become a permanent participant following some reports by Jon Ola to the Swedish broadcaster. 


Effettua il login con uno di questi metodi per inviare il tuo commento:


Stai commentando usando il tuo account Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Google+ photo

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Google+. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto Twitter

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Twitter. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto di Facebook

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Facebook. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Connessione a %s...